The Flag of New Zealand

Flag of New Zealand

New Zealand accepted its national flag on March 24, 1902. Albert Hastings Markham, the Royal Navy’s First Lieutenant had designed the New Zealand flag in 1869. Though the flags were being hoisted in several places during the time, the official acceptance came after King Edward VII approved the New Zealand flag and Code Signals Bill in March 1902.

The flag of New Zealand has a defaced blue field with the Union Jack in the canton. It has four red stars with white borders to the right. The stars’ design signifies the asterism within the constellation of Crux, the Southern Cross. There were referendums held in 2015 and 2016 to reconsider a modification in flag of New Zealand, however, the discussion never reached to any conclusion.

History of New Zealand Flag

James Busby, a British local, summoned a meeting of Maori chiefs to vote for New Zealand’s initial flag at Waitangi. The United Tribes of New Zealand disallowed two of three flags designed and future by Henry Williams. On March 1834, the association voted and approved a flag with two crosses of St. George, one in a blue contextual canton bearing four eight-pointed stars. This flag design developed the Flag of the United Tribes of New Zealand, with its use finish in 1840. From 1840 up to 1867, the country accepted the British Union Flag, after ratification the Treaty of Waitangi. The Colonial Navy Defense Act 1865 led to an outline of a New Zealand flag in 1867 built on the British Blue Ensign manner the initials “NZ” in the fly, with its usage up to 1869. Use of the present flag initiated in 1869, but certified implementation occurred in 1902.

Credit to for the above text.